Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: Mongoose?  (Read 19590 times)

Offline SpitFireJay

• Huffy Rider
Mongoose?
« on: October 04, 2007, 07:53:56 AM »
I'm looking at two different mongoose mtn bikes to replace the hard tail i use right now. The bike i have is a hand-me-down and left me with man a bruise in the rump on my last ride. I want something dual suspension (or so i believe) that can handle some of the harder trails in alafia and croom. I'm fairly new to mtn biking, with a background mostly in snowboarding. The first bike is a the 26" Mongoose XR250.  Specs below.

* Frame type: 4-bar dual suspension mountain bike frame
    * Frame materials: Lightweight aluminum
    * Suspension type: ZOOM suspension fork
    * Gearing/Shifters: 21-speed Shimano drivetrain, Easy Fire shifters
    * Brakes: Front ProMax disc brake, rear alloy linear pull brake
    * Tires: Mongoose R4674WM tires
    * Wheels: AERO paired spoke deep dish alloy wheels
    * Weight: 42lbs.

The second bike is the Mongoose Blackcomb.
Specifications:

* Frame type: 4-bar vertical spring aluminum dual suspension frame
    * Frame material: Aluminum for light weight and durability
    * Suspension fork: RST Capa-T6; coil/MCU spring, non-adjustable 75mm
    * Rear suspension: Adjustable coil
    * Shifting: 24-speed Shimano gearing with EZ Fire shifters
    * Stem: 25.4 ahead stem
    * Handlebars: Alloy MTB rise
    * Front Derailleur: Shimano C050
    * Rear Derailleur: Shimano Altus
    * Brakes: Front and rear Promax mechanical Dual Disc
    * Wheels: 26" 36-spoke black anodized alloy rims; alloy QR disc hubs
    * Gears: Suntour XCC 28/38/48; Shimano HG30 11-28T
    * Tires: Kenda 26" x 2.1"
    * Pedals: Mongoose MTB
    * Seat: WTB Speed-V
    * MOZO Vibe E fork to smooth out front impacts

Comments? Suggestions? Like i said i'm fairly new to the sport and i'm looking for something thats not going to kill my wallet, yet will last me for a couple years.
Thanks,
Jay