Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: Convenient locales for MTB?  (Read 3034 times)

Offline Spotter

• First Bike
Convenient locales for MTB?
« on: December 21, 2007, 09:47:36 PM »
Hi all-

I'm moving to tampa to do residency at USF in June....a little far off, but I'm interested in finding out what you guys think about places to live in the area that are convenient to mtb trails. I've been biking for 6 years and am totally addicted...I'd hate to wind up some place an hour from the closest trail. Looking at the maps on your site, it seems Wilderness Park is actually very close to USF, with alafia and boyette 45min-1hr to the south. I wouldn't want more than a 30 minute commute to USF, and I hear the traffic from the north coming into town is pretty bad.

My husband and I have only been to tampa once, and that was a quick trip where we saw more of south tampa than the area around USF. Unfortunately, I don't know much about the area around USF. South tampa is more pricey, but seems to have a short commute up to USF (against traffic I think?), but is more pricey and farther from the mtb trails it seems. We'd be renting, so could afford a place there, but I'm not sure if there are better places to live for biking. We don't need nightlife really, just a nice neighborhood and not alot of traffic.

Any ideas? I'm going to talk to current residents to see where they live, but I'd like to hear from cyclists, too.

Thanks!

Offline Amocat00

• Clipless Mountain Goat
  • Zoom Zoom
Re: Convenient locales for MTB?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2007, 10:41:12 PM »
We just moved here from North Carolina about 5 months ago.  I'm glad we moved where we did, since I'm getting back in to mountain biking.  Brandon would be a nice place, probably 30 min. commute to USF, 20 or so min. to Boyette, and probably 30 min. to Alafia.  You can feel free to email me for more info. if you'd like.

~Shawn
"Ride It Like You Stole It!!!"

~Shawn

Offline Gregg