Author Topic: Squiggy for a beginner?  (Read 5070 times)

Online Alan

• Ninja Master Cyclist
  • My Bike: 2009 GF Paragon, 2008 Redline MC29er
Squiggy for a beginner?
« on: January 29, 2008, 09:13:12 PM »
I've been thinking of giving the Squiggy a shot for my first race.  Not expecting to win the event or anything...I just want to get out there, ride, and feed my inner competitive animal that has been stored up for a few years.  I honestly have no idea what to expect.  Would this be a good taste of what XC and enduro racing is all about? 

What advice can you give to a complete newb to the sport? 

My wife and a couple friends have volunteered to be my support crew...is there a limit to how many people can come to help me out and keep my spirits up? 

Offline Jimbo

• Ninja Master Cyclist
Re: Squiggy for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 09:48:00 PM »
You'll love your first race experience!  My first was the 13 Hours of Santos last year.  It was a blast!!  Since your new to the sport, you might want to get a few riding buddies together and form a relay team.  It will be a great experience any way you decide to tackle it.  It doesn't matter how fast you go or where you place just as long as you have a great time with it.  :)
It's not just fun, it's an addiction!

Offline Gregg

• Forum Moderator
  • Yellow Jersey
  • obsessed...............
  • My Bike: A Kouple of Kool Konas
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 08:09:35 AM »
I've been thinking of giving the Squiggy a shot for my first race.  Not expecting to win the event or anything...I just want to get out there, ride, and feed my inner competitive animal that has been stored up for a few years.  I honestly have no idea what to expect.  Would this be a good taste of what XC and enduro racing is all about? 

What advice can you give to a complete newb to the sport?