Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: When to use the "Lock Out" feature on fork  (Read 4140 times)

Offline Darrinw2001

• At least this is a Healthy Obsession, right?
  • Yellow Jersey
  • aka "The OGRE" - Elite Epic Gonzo Soul Rider
  • My Bike: 2012 Salsa EL Mariachi Steel 29er and 2012 Salsa HorseThief
When to use the "Lock Out" feature on fork
« on: April 09, 2008, 07:30:00 PM »
So I got a new Rock Shox Dart 3 fork last month and I installed it Ok. rides great so far and I think I got it dailed in good for my fat butt. Yes I am still a newbie so here is my question:  I have the POPLOC remote lock-out feature that I installed and wonder when is the best time to use this feature? longer climbs or any type of climb?

Thanks

Offline Kevin Bennett

• Ninja Master Cyclist
  • Space Ghost
Re: When to use the "Lock Out" feature on fork
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2008, 07:49:19 PM »
If you need out of the saddle power and don't want the fork to compress as you pump the cranks, lock it out.  However, if you don't notice a problem at this point, don't use it.  Experiment with it, when it's safe.
God is great, beer is good, people are crazy!

Offline FACTORe

• Yellow Jersey
  • team - independent self supported
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2008, 08:41:37 PM »
here is a little tweak that a lot of the pros use and I love it - lock your fork out and set the blow-off to engage when you hit roots/rocks - this is really nice in the G-outs and climbs and you don't get any energy loss when you stand up to pedal by some energy getting used up in the fork compressing.

Offline Darrinw2001

• At least this is a Healthy Obsession, right?
  • Yellow Jersey
  • aka "The OGRE" - Elite Epic Gonzo Soul Rider
  • My Bike: 2012 Salsa EL Mariachi Steel 29er and 2012 Salsa HorseThief
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 09:53:07 PM »
so like on North Creek I should keep it locked out and set to blow-off on rocks and roots? sounds good I'll try that.

Offline FACTORe