Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: juicy 5 brakes  (Read 4564 times)

Offline Find Shelter Roadies

• Amateur Billy Goat
  • E = EFFORT / EFFORT = RESULTS!
    • Aaron Joslin Photog
juicy 5 brakes
« on: August 04, 2008, 08:49:40 PM »
Ok So I am finally going to break down and get into upgraded random stuff on my bike. However I have never touched bikes before but prefer to do things myself and have to start somewhere!! As a known problem (from ive read) the juicy 5 polygon rotor is complete junk, I got the vibration / squeeling etcetc pretty much since I bought the bike new in 06. Just the noise an vibration has been off an on...
So anyone have any suggestions for new rotor? I was thinking of going with the juicy 7 rotor (avid g2)my budy has that on his SJ and its been working out great for him... Also pads.. any suggestions? I have seen a pretty solid review on the EBC pads I would guess run the greens? LIke I said im new to this whole upgrade deal but would be fun and let me appriciate my bike more if I did it myself. 1 more thing...I have torn my bike down in the past but never touched the brakes. This leading to my last question. How exactly can I get the pads out Their is the clip on the top which I have removed but the what looks like a clip the pads set inside im not sure how that comes out and I don't want to start prying on things and breaking something AND I cannot find anything on removing pads which is no suprise because im sure its about the dumbest question, No shame in this game though! laugh if you must because I am!  ;D
Thanks for the read!

Offline firebiker

• Ninja Master Cyclist
Re: juicy 5 brakes
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2008, 08:56:49 PM »