Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: Stupid Snake Encounters  (Read 1368 times)

Offline RKL

• Clipless Mountain Goat
Stupid Snake Encounters
« on: December 05, 2008, 05:59:31 PM »
So I was riding in Sarasota this afternoon to get some miles in & had a stupid snake encounter.  I'm a biologist & have dealt w/ snakes my whole life so thought there might be a bit of a lesson here.  I came up on about a 4' diamondback in the middle of a shell double track road.  It curled up and rattled for a bit.  I watched from a safe distance for a while and went on down the road.  A mile or so down the road I had to turn around and come back the way I came.  Not a big deal, snakes move on pretty soon after they're disturbed and I wasn't even thinking about it anymore or paying attention.  Wouldn't you know it - the #!!^ing thing was just starting to crawl off the road & because I was daydreaming I rode right over the top of it.  Pretty Stupid.

The moral of the story:
1) you should always pay attention when you're riding - a snake, panther or Saskwatch could jump out at you
2) more people die from bees than snakes.  Folks that get snakebit are typically messing with them and frequently drunk.  You're really pretty safe in the woods from snakes.

and most importantly for us riders

3) If you gotta roll over something while your legs are spead eagle & your feet are above the bars - you gotta have momentum.

Be safe out there...

Offline Garry

• Ride Guide & Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
    • http://garrybikes.blogspot.com/
Re: Stupid Snake Encounters
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2008, 06:06:58 PM »
  Folks that get snakebit are typically messing with them and frequently drunk.  You're really pretty safe in the woods from snakes.

uh huh...hey ya'll watch this

Offline slowfatguy

• Yellow Jersey
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2008, 06:18:58 PM »