Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: question about buying an older FS frame..  (Read 2444 times)

Offline DeV

• Loudmouth Know-it-all
  • Amateur Billy Goat
  • Favorite Trail: Alafia for sure!
  • My Bike: 06 Stumpy Comp
question about buying an older FS frame..
« on: January 13, 2009, 09:45:29 PM »
so i have an opportunity to snatch up a 2000 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR pro frame.. and its a great deal.. but im wondering if it would be worth it to build a bike thats only going to have 3 1/4 inches of travel in the rear.. because i have to assume that if i put a longer travel shock on the rear.. ill screw up the geometry of the bike.. but i am a beginner rider.. and i am on a budget.. so..

opinions? *go easy on me.. imma noob* :)
2006 Specialized Stumpy Comp

Offline Gregg

• Forum Moderator
  • Yellow Jersey
  • obsessed...............
  • My Bike: A Kouple of Kool Konas....and a new plastic Titus....
Re: question about buying an older FS frame..
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 09:57:30 PM »
so i have an opportunity to snatch up a 2000 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR pro frame.. and its a great deal.. but im wondering if it would be worth it to build a bike thats only going to have 3 1/4 inches of travel in the rear.. because i have to assume that if i put a longer travel shock on the rear.. ill screw up the geometry of the bike.. but i am a beginner rider.. and i am on a budget.. so..

opinions? *go easy on me.. imma noob* :)

I guess that the first question is how much would you have to spend on the frame, and then how many of your current components would be able to be transfered and how well would they work on the Stumpjumper? The travel is less of an issue. While it might be desirable to have more travel, it is not needed.

So my answer is "more information please"?

Offline catman

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
  • My Bike: 2016 Scott Genius 740
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 10:50:16 PM »