Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: XC or All Mountain  (Read 2295 times)

Offline tlmason74

• First Bike
XC or All Mountain
« on: January 23, 2009, 03:12:44 PM »
I recently started riding again and am trying to get myself back into shape so I can ride Alafia and some of the more technical trails.  I'm trying to ride Flatwoods on weekends to build my endurance back up to where it should be.  I'm currently riding an old Scott Vertigo LSD but according to University Bicycles it has a crack in the frame.  I'm saving up to replace the Scott once that goes and am looking to spend between $1000.00 and $1500.00.  I'm not sure what I should be looking at since it's been about 10 years since I purchased my last bike.  I know it will be between an All Mountain or XC but don't know which way to go.  Any suggestions on one over the other as well as brands that will fit in my price range will be greatly appreciated.

Offline StonePony

• Clipless Mountain Goat
Re: XC or All Mountain
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 04:26:01 PM »
I recently rode a Giant Anthem X3 that I liked a *lot*.  The only thing is, it's a couple hundred bones above the top of your price range.  Nevertheless, if you can scrounge up the extra, or can negotiate a discount you may want to take a test ride and try one out.

Offline silentneko

• Clipless Mountain Goat
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 04:37:25 PM »
if your going to do the more tech trails then stay away from xc cause they just aren't built for it. I already made that mistake.

Offline jdk

• Clipless Mountain Goat
  • I LIKE BIKES
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 05:13:14 PM »
I think it has more to do with what kind of rider you are than what kind of trails you ride. I consider my riding style to be more akin to a rusty machete than a scalpel, so I use my heavy trailbike even on what you might consider XC trails.

^Me, while riding a Turner.

Offline Gregg

• Forum Moderator
  • Yellow Jersey