Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: X-Games trail crew?  (Read 5066 times)

Offline catman

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
  • My Bike: 2016 Scott Genius 740
X-Games trail crew?
« on: March 20, 2009, 01:07:15 AM »

Wondering if we can get a small group of trail workers together who want to work exclusively on repairing/improving the hardest trails that Alafia has to offer. Although I have very little trail work experience, the main problem I see is sharing the equipment (motorized wheel barrel) with the crew that is working on the new Roller Coaster and Moonscape additions. I can only imagine that the trail work will have to be done on the same day as the official work day at Alafia so that any actual changes can be approved by the trail boss.

I've heard that the Ridgeriders had to get involved in order to re-open Gatorback but there is certainly no reason for that since most people I've ridden with in the Swamp enjoy riding the hard trails more so than that the easier stuff.

Seems like if there was a loosely organized group of X-games generation type individuals who discussed and repaired the trails that they like to ride we'd have a lot less to complain about.

For the record, I'm not talking about building huge jumps that are obviously man made or boardwalks up in the trees.....although that would be great.

Post up if you like this idea. I've already thought of 5-6 things that need attention on Gatorback and Moonscape
Part time mountain biker, full time roadie smiter.

Offline slowfatguy

• Yellow Jersey
Re: X-Games trail crew?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2009, 07:47:24 AM »
There is already a small group of us (X-gamers as you put it) that attend the workdays that like advanced trails. Come out and join in. Right now there is work going on adding to Rollercoaster and Moonscape that IMO has the potential to be some of the best trail out there for advanced level riding.