Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: Hubs -- In over my head  (Read 1396 times)

Offline Rockhopper

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Clipless Mountain Goat
Hubs -- In over my head
« on: May 12, 2009, 10:41:52 PM »
My rear Shimano hub on my Specialized Epic wasn't turning very well, so I decided to take the cassette off and see if I could address the problem. I've never worked on hubs before, so I'm in over my head from the start. Anyway, after getting everything off, I notice that the bearings on one side (the cassette side) are really dirty and black, but the bearings on the brake rotor side are still pretty clean. Is that normal? 
Also, I cleaned up the bearings and they all look shiny now, but should I buy new ones instead or is it ok to put the old ones back in? (I'm in a bit of a holding pattern right now because I don't have the right lube for repacking the bearings.) 
Any other helpful tips for repacking the bearings and putting the axle/hub back together? Thanks. 

Offline catman

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
  • My Bike: 2016 Scott Genius 740
Re: Hubs -- In over my head
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2009, 12:00:11 AM »
If the balls and races are not pitted to the point where you can feel it go ahead and reuse. Those loose bearing set ups can run a long time if you do a little TLC. Cassette side is probably dirty because cleaning of the cassette via water hose/pressure washer sprayed into the axle area. Check out the seal on that side and make sure it is in good shape. Might have just got packed full of grime.