Author Topic: Online tube deals?  (Read 2215 times)

Online Scott

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
Re: Online tube deals?
« Reply #30 on: July 19, 2009, 09:13:42 PM »
Check out the video on the no tubes site where a c-clamp is put on a true UST tire/rim set up and a converted conventional rim/tire. The true UST system will burp when the c-clamp is twisted(more force than would ever be seen in normal use EXCEPT when crashing on the hill just before Gatorbait ;D) The converted setup does not burp because of the rubber to rubber interface of tire on rim strip.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2009, 09:17:16 PM by Scott »

Offline nick

• Amateur Billy Goat
  • My Bike: MTB-05 Giant Trance /Road-87 Schwinn LeTour
« Reply #31 on: July 20, 2009, 07:02:31 AM »
I have been running the stans kit for 2 years and never burped air or had a flat. First couple sets of tires were kenda and now im running specialized. The front wheel is mavic crossland and the rear is a DT XR4.2D. Both are non ust and no issues at all. With tubes i was always getting pinch flats. I dont know why they even make UST stuff anymore its not needed.

Offline Triple T

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Yellow Jersey
  • My Bike: Likes to pose in the parking lot.
« Reply #32 on: July 20, 2009, 07:48:50 AM »
Just to set the record straight, ghetto refers to an install using methods other than the prescribed rim strip

True, however, using Stan's means that you're making something work in a way that it wasn't intended.  "Converting" "ghetto".  The same in my opinion.
Ibis Mojo SL-23.81 lbs.
Ibis Tranny-20.75 lbs.

Offline chisel

• Yellow Jersey
« Reply #33 on: July 20, 2009, 08:08:13 AM »
factore,these guys with all the stans probs either did not do their homework and bought the wrong tire rim combo or installed it improperly.  2 years since my last flat.  tubes make me laugh... ;D

Offline chisel

• Yellow Jersey
« Reply #34 on: July 20, 2009, 08:09:55 AM »