Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: How to clean wax-based lube from bike and other lube questions  (Read 590 times)

Offline tampabobby

• First Bike
Hi All - I am a newbie and have only been riding a few months. I have a Giant Revel 2 that is nothing special but has been getting the job done so far. I've lubed the chain a few times with White Lightning - which is a wax based chain lube.

In the process I've gotten a fair amount of it on my frame, tires, and the gears. I read that mineral spirits is a good way to clean this stuff off my chain but what about the bike frame - would that eat through the paint as well?

Also - when I clean and re-lube my chain it seems like there is a still a ton of dirt inbetween the links. I just blast it with a hose and dry it with a towel, then apply the lube. Is this the correct method or should I be cleaning it more thoroughly?

Thanks in advance for any advice...

Offline Redriderpro

• Redriderpro
  • SWAMP Club Member
  • Ninja Master Cyclist
  • My Bike: Devinci Atlas carbon 29er
Re: How to clean wax-based lube from bike and other lube questions
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2011, 01:02:40 PM »
the key is proper cleaning of the chain, let it dry, then add lube, wipe off excess lube.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&xhr=t&q=bicycle+chain+cleaner&cp=15&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1280&bih=578&wrapid=tljp1310662097193026&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=16105324543428935332&sa=X&ei=1x0fTr2SMcfUgAedruSoAw&sqi=2&ved=0CDYQ8wIwAA#

This type of chain cleaner is common. But you can also just remove the chain ( if your chain has a master link) then use the cleaner of your choice to fill enough of an old water bottle, extran large coke bottle etc, insert chain, shake for a while, drain cleaner, repeat.