Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: New to the area, need tire recommendations  (Read 580 times)

Offline CPFitness

• First Bike
New to the area, need tire recommendations
« on: January 08, 2014, 08:43:53 AM »
Hey everyone, new to the area and been out to Wilderness park a few times and ridden with the group a couple of times.  I'm a MTB newb from NYC but the trails up there are nothing like Wilderness park.  I had my massive heavy knobby 2.3 tire on the front and I just swapped it out for a much more XC friendly tire yesterday and what a difference in my speed on the trails.  But now I want to go explore some of the other trails (probably going to check out Boyette today in advance of the group ride on sunday)  Will I be okay on these XC tires (specifically they are GEAX Mezcals 2.1", not the most popular or well known tire out there but they have been okay for me) at a place like Boyette or Alafia?   Additional info, I'm 6'3" 250 and I'm riding a Canfield Brothers Yelli Screamy Hardtail (some of you may know who I am, the bike is bright orange, hard to miss it!)   

Thanks for any help you can provide

Offline Dirt Diggler

• SWAMP Club Member
  • Huffy Rider
Re: New to the area, need tire recommendations
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 09:49:14 AM »
I'm 200+, on a hardtail, too--I run a 2.35 Rocket Ron in the front and a 2.1 Icon in the rear (due to clearance issues.) I'd run 2.35s front and rear if I could. I've ridden Boyette on 2.0s, it's okay. I think it's probably going to come down to personal preference and riding style--I like a higher volume, softer tire wherever possible, generally speaking.

Offline CPFitness

• First Bike
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 10:42:40 AM »