Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: What A workout  (Read 269 times)

Offline keller34

• First Bike
  • Favorite Trail: Boyette Scrub
  • My Bike: 2015 Trek Marlin 6
What A workout
« on: March 27, 2015, 02:30:48 PM »
Well for me at least.  I went to Alafia to ride for the first time.  Figured I would try my hand at North creek.  Keep in mind I am just a beginner but like to push it a little bit.  I have rode Boyette and have done a few trails there and they seem tame to the ones at Alafia! 

I have done 8+ miles no problem of just trails at Boyette but at Alafia I was struggling.  I have to admit it was fun flying through the air a few times and ended up on what I think was razorback...I almost pee'ed myself a little when i went down the hill and the other crap.  It was the only one close enough and was unlike any of the other stuff I have went through.  I won't make that mistake again and will pay attention to the signs better as i am NOT ready for that kind of riding!  I skipped Twisted and Magic as i was tired as could be.  This trail gave my fat, out of shape self a nice little work out.

I think I am going to see more about some help learning how to handle these trails better before I bite off more than i can chew and do a face plant into a tree.

Offline John

• First Bike
  • Favorite Trail: Moonscape
  • My Bike: Trek superfly
Re: What A workout
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 04:28:59 PM »
Try River loop, Rock garden and Sand pine at Alafia....

they are much easier.  Then work up to Roller Coaster and North Creek.

Good Luck!!

Offline JeffWhite

• SWAMP Club Advisor
  • Amateur Billy Goat
  • Favorite Trail: MagicIsland
  • My Bike: Specialized SJ 29er
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2015, 05:07:10 PM »

Best to take a riding class.  See the SWAMP club training page.