Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Author Topic: Moving to Tampa, have questions?  (Read 804 times)

Offline Chris Sgaraglino

• SWAMP Club Member
  • First Bike
    • My Life on Two Wheels
Moving to Tampa, have questions?
« on: February 28, 2017, 11:36:06 AM »
Hello all, I am heading your way and looking into the MTB scene there in and around Tampa. I am currently in Colorado Springs, Colorado and have been here for more than 20 years. I have been cycling on an off for over 30 years, raced downhill professionally and even ran my own bike shop for more than 5 years.

I love cycling, I ride MTB, Road, Cross all year long - yes even int he snow. Anything and everything from flat-ish, to 14,000 foot mountains, lotís of shuttling/downhill rides, as well as 3-4 day bikepacking trips. I live at an elevation of 6,500 feet and can ride anywhere from here up to 14,100 feet (Pikes Peak). At 52 - 5í 8Ē and 220 pounds, I am not as fast as I used to be, but I can still have with the 30 somethings! I typically get in about 1,600 miles a year with a little over 80,000 feet of climbing - honestly though, I am looking forward to more flat terrain, the climbing is not all thatís itís cracked up to be!

I gave up my Giant Reign & Santa Cruz Superlight shortly after I got my Borealis Echo, a carbon Fat Bike that I have absolutely fallen in love with! I have 3 sets of wheels; all carbon 5" fatty for most all mountain dirt and snow riding, a set of aluminum with less aggressive tread for general purpose riding around town on fire roads and pavement, and a set of Stan's Hugo52 29+ with 3" Dirt Wizards for the longer singletrack rides, bikepacking and touring trips.